About Me

My name is Christian Spinillo and as far back as I can remember food has always been a big part of my life, especially with my father being from Italy and the enormous food culture there.  One memory in particular is from before I was even in first grade. It was making sopressata in the basement of our row home in West New York, NJ with my Nonna.  So I guess you can say I’ve been doing charcuterie since the age of 5, however it’s more like for the last 6 years or so.

Prior to moving out west to Colorado, I had worked on a farm with Bob del Grosso in the kitchen.  While there I was fortunate enough to learn some of the art of butchery and charcuterie, as well as many other miscellaneous kitchen skills.  I originally went to the farm to learn about myself, to see if I could raise the animals I eventually eat, perhaps even partake in the slaughter of them.  It should be noted, I did this before my “real job” and on the weekends.   I learned a lot about the craft as well as myself, all in all, it was one of the best years of my life.

So this brings me to now.  I live out in Colorado just north of Boulder in a town called Lyons.  I work a “real job” for now in advertising and am working towards to goal of having a farm and butcher shop against the “5 year plan”.  On the way there, I’m making my own stuff at home in a converted refrigerator, connecting with farmers in the area and trying to make my mistakes now before I make them with an actual business.  I live with my two dogs, Pinot and Nike, who often like to help out in the kitchen as you’ll see in many of the photos.

Feel free to contact me at any point with questions, criticisms or jokes.